2014 IAHSAA State Wrestling Championship

Pictured left to right, top to bottom: Brennen Grimm of EV, Sheldon Ealy of EV, Axmear’s podium shot [Norv Coblentz, photographer], Bryce Brown of SK, Nathan Fritz of SK, Tucker Fowler of SK, Lane Boender of SK and Zach Axmear of EV (5th) [non-podium shots taken by MAP staff photographers].


The months and years of dedication to the sport of wrestling by the area wrestlers came to fruition last week at the 2014 IAHSAA State Wrestling Championships in Des Moines.

Four Sigourney-Keota wrestlers and three from English Valleys represented their schools and the county at Wells Fargo Arena and lived their ultimate dreams in the process.


For Brock Moore’s EV Bears, Sheldon Ealy was the first to wrestle at 120 lbs. EV freshman Zach Axmear had far and away the best showing of any area wrestler. The 145-lbs. took fifth place in his weight class and finished the weekend at 3-1. At 182, Brennen Grimm made EV three for three on the first day...