ICA names young producers taking part in 2014 leadership program


Twenty-four young Iowa cattle producers from around the state are participating in the 2014 Young Cattlemen’s Leadership Program (YCLP). The Iowa Cattlemen’s Association program is designed to develop personal, organizational, and community-focused leadership qualities in young producers.


The first meeting of the group focused on learning more about each other, the Iowa Beef Industry Headquarters, and meeting and talking with state agency leaders and Iowa legislators.


Participants, listed by county, are: Bremer – Bob Schellhorn, Fredericksburg; Carroll – Kyle Musfeldt, Coon Rapids, and Brian Behrens, Templeton; Cedar – Lance Schiele, West Liberty; and Clarke – Lizzy Lohr, Osceola and Jennifer Pollard, Osceola.


Clay - Cole and Mandy Danner, Curlew; Clinton – Kendall Claeys, Calamus, and Tyler Adrian, Delmar; Crawford – Robert Riesselman, Manning; Davis - Aaron Amstutz, Bloomfield; Fayette – Mark Putney, Elgin; and Fremont – Jeremy Walter, Farragut.


Also, Greene – Justin Robbins, Scranton; Hardin – Josh Hobson, Eldora; Jackson – Cody Foust, Zwingle, Brandon Moore, Maquoketa, and Isaac Sutton, Maquoketa; Jefferson – Dan Delaney, Fairfield; and Madison – Isaiah Shnurman, Prole.


Finally, Marshall, Austin Gacke, Melbourne; Montgomery – Josh Reed, Red Oak; and Sioux – Vaughan Ranschau, Rock Valley.


The second event for the group will be March 7-8. The event will be in Ames with a focus on leadership training provided by Alan Feirer of Winterset. Feirer has provided training across the country as well as with many association groups in Iowa.


The YCLP members will also get together for training and meetings on June 10-11, Aug. 29-30 and Dec. 8-10.